Government panel to submit plan for overseas campuses of Indian universities by March 17

A 16-member panel has been set up by the union government to plan the establishment of Indian university campuses abroad. The objective of the formation of the body is to prepare a plan to enable foreign campuses of Indian universities.

The committee has until March 17 to submit a framework for higher education institutions to open offshore campuses after reviewing existing arrangements for opening overseas campuses.

Read | Brand development, collaboration, credit recognition: learn about the Modi government’s plan to internationalize Indian colleges

In November last year, IIT Delhi applied for permission to launch two overseas campuses, one in Egypt and the other in Saudi Arabia. The proposal to establish an academy of the International Institute for Technological Research in Mauritius faced objections from the then Minister of Human Resources Development, Smriti Irani.

Recently, the National Education Policy released contained guidelines on renowned universities to open overseas campuses after approval from three Union ministries – education, external affairs and internal affairs.

As suggested under the NEP, offshore campuses will not only attract overseas students and build a brand for Indian institutes abroad. They will also expand the exposure of Indian students with courses and international collaborations. Indian students will have the opportunity to pursue part of their study programs in these international locations. Twinning programs would be a precursor to this offshore campus expansion.

According to The Indian Express, the Radhakrishnan committee has already met once and discussed the number of possible campuses. The major overseas campus courses offered by IIT Delhi include four-year undergraduate courses, campuses spread over 100 acres close to major cities with good air connectivity and an annual intake of not more than 240 students in at least four branches based on SAT Scores.

The committee, which is headed by the Chairman of the Standing Committee of the IIT Council, Dr. K Radhakrishnan, also includes the Directors of Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) campuses in Mumbai, Delhi, Kharagpur, Madras, Kanpur , Guwahati and Dhanbad. The panel also includes the Director of the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru and the Vice Chancellors of four Central Universities – University of Delhi, Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), Banaras Hindu University (BHU ) and the University of Hyderabad, The Indian Express reported.

Read all the latest news, breaking news and updates on coronavirus here.