State schools

Examination body, WAEC bans 35 Rivers State schools for malpractice

The West African Examinations Council (WAEC) has banned no less than 35 Secondary Schools in Rivers State from presenting candidates for the Secondary School Certificate Examination due to their involvement in poor review practices.
A letter signed by the Deputy Registrar/Area Coordinator for the Head of the West Africa Examinations Council National Office, WAEC, SD KUM has been forwarded by the State Ministry of Education to the schools concerned, de-recognize the schools concerned and for the opinion of the public.

According to the letter, schools affected by the ban will not be registering exam candidates until further notice, Tribune reports.
The schools listed in the letter include: EL-Olam Global Academy, Ogbogoro; Rehoboth International High School; Christ Secondary School, Norway; Midland Int’l Christian Sec. Sch, Port Harcourt; Rootway Compre. College, Port Harcourt; Charry Compre. Second. Sch, Port Harcourt; Millennium High School, Port Harcourt; Sonny Memorial College, Diobu; International Sit-Up School, Oyigbo; Rich-Model Secondary School, Oyigbo; Excel Comprehensive College, Okrika; Victory High School, Port Harcourt; Atlantic Heralds High School, Port Harcourt; Comp. Nigerian Christian. College, Asarama; John Wesley College, Bori.
Unique International Sec School, Lycée Etche Ranjeny, Ogale Nchia Eleme; Baptist Vocational College, Ahoada; Community Secondary School, Ido; Community Secondary School, Baranyowa Dere; Community Secondary School, Kono Boue; Community Secondary School, Kpean; Comprehensive Secondary School, Sii Khanna Kono Secondary School, Kono; Community Secondary School, Baen; Community Secondary School, Ngo-Uyeada; Community upper secondary Sch. Abam-ama; Community Secondary School, Ban Ogoi; Tua-Tun Sec community. School, korokoro; Joinkrama Giris Secondary School, Joinkrama; Western Ahoada County Secondary School, Ahoada and Community Secondary School, Ebubu Eleme.